MIAMI (March 31, 2017)Florida International University’s Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management has appointed Lizabeth Kane-Hanan ’87 MS ’04 as the Chair of the Dean’s Advisory Council, effective February 23, 2017.

“We are very proud to welcome Mrs. Kane-Hanan to the helm of the Dean’s Advisory Council”, said Mike Hampton, dean of the Chaplin School. “An alumna of our program, she represents the embodiment of executive leadership, global vision and innovative thinking.”

Lizabeth Kane-Hanan is the Executive Vice President and Chief Growth and Inventory Officer, as well as Executive Officer for Marriott Vacations Worldwide (MVW). Her team’s efforts support Marriott Vacation Club, the Ritz-Carlton Destination Club and Grand Residences by Marriott brands worldwide. Prior to joining MVW in 2000, Kane-Hanan was part of the senior leadership team of the real estate consulting practices of Arthur Andersen and Horwath Hospitality in Miami, where she specialized in development, acquisitions, and strategic planning for mixed-use real estate projects and companies. She received both her undergraduate and graduate degrees in hospitality management from the Chaplin School at Florida International University, where she served as a member of the dean’s advisory council for the last six years.

“I am honored to give back to my alma-mater, and help the school advance its goal of raising 150 million to make its vision a reality,” Kane-Hanan said. “Our prestigious council will leverage its industry acumen and unparalleled leadership skills to help the school achieve its mission of preparing the leaders who will create, develop and deliver the customer experiences of the future, Kane-Hanan added.

Phil Goldfarb’79, President and Chief Operating Officer at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, the immediate past chair of the Dean’s Advisory Council, will continue to support the school in its commitment to student success and academic excellence. He will continue his engagement with the council as an active member.

“We are very thankful to Phil. During the last two years, his leadership and vision transformed the Board and elevated the reputation of the School. He was instrumental in helping us establish the School’s strategic direction for year 2020 and acted as a catalyst in shaping our new academic programs that redefine hospitality management education”, Hampton said.

As the Chaplin School is realizing its vision and becomes the preeminent center for effective solutions in the hospitality and tourism industry, it recently welcomed four new members to the Dean’s Advisory Council.

“It’s an honor to have the support and the guidance of these distinguished alumni and industry leaders,” Hampton said. “They are among the most illustrious minds in the industry, and we are beyond fortunate to be able to benefit from their guidance”, Hampton added.

The new members include:

1. Sharon Duffy ’85, Senior Vice President, Global Business Development & Strategic Partnerships, Nor1;

2. Jenny Lucas, Senior Vice President, Operations and Learning, Loews Hotels;

3. Jerry Montgomery, Chief Human Resources Officer, Carnival Corporation & plc;

4. Regynald Washington’74, Chief Executive Officer and active member of the Board of Directors, Hojeij Branded Foods.

For more information about each member of the Dean’s Advisory Council, please click here. For more information about the Chaplin School, please visit