Total $0.00


WASHINGTON, DC— October 14, 2015, Stanley Turkel has been named the recipient of the Historic Hotels of America 2015 Historian of the Year Award. Turkel was honored with this distinguished award on October 9, 2015 at West Baden Springs Hotel (1902) at French Lick Resort in West Baden Springs, Indiana.  This is the second year in a row Turkel has been awarded this prestigious honor.


The Historic Hotels of America Historian of the Year Award is presented to an individual for making a unique contribution in the research, and presentation of history and whose work has encouraged a wide discussion of greater understanding and enthusiasm for American History and historic hotels.


Turkel is a well-known consultant in the hotel industry. Prior to forming his hotel consulting firm, Turkel was the Product Line Manager for worldwide hotel/motel operations at the International Telephone & Telegraph Company (IT&T) overseeing the Sheraton Corporation of America. Before joining IT&T, he was the Resident Manager of the Americana Hotel (1,842 guestrooms), General Manager of the Drake Hotel (680 guestrooms) and General Manager of the Summit Hotel (762 guestrooms), all in New York City.  


Turkel is one of the most widely-published authors in the hospitality field. More than 275 articles on various hotel subjects have been posted in hotel magazines and on the Hotel-Online, BlueMauMau, HotelNewsResource and eTurboNews websites. Two of his hotel books have been promoted, distributed, and sold by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (Great American Hoteliers: Pioneers of the Hotel Industry and Built To Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels East of the Mississippi). A third hotel book (Built To Last: 100+ Year-Old Hotels in New York) was called "passionate and informative" by The New York Times. His fourth hotel book was described by The New York Times: "Nostalgia for the City's caravansaries will be kindled by Stanley Turkel's...fact-filled... ‘Hotel Mavens: Lucius M. Boomer, George C. Boldt and Oscar of the Waldorf.”


“We are pleased to name Stanley Turkel as the recipient of the Historic Hotels of America 2015 Historian of the Year Award for the second consecutive year,” said Lawrence Horwitz, Executive Director of Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide. “Stanley Turkel is a great storyteller. Turkel stimulates significant interest in historic hotels. He makes you want to travel back in time to the early days of these historic hotels and you feel as if you were there. Turkel brings the tales of these treasured historic hotels to life.”


Upon being informed that he had been named Historic Hotels of America 2015 Historian of the Year, Stanley Turkel noted, “According to Dr. Samuel Johnson, ‘There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man by which so much happiness is produced as by a good tavern or inn’  and  Turkel added, “according to Mark Twain, ‘All saints can perform miracles but only a few can manage a hotel.’

About Historic Hotels of America™

Historic Hotels of America is the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation for recognizing and celebrating the finest Historic Hotels. Historic Hotels of America was founded in 1989 by the National Trust for Historic Preservationwith 32 charter members. Today, Historic Hotels of America has more than 275 historic hotels. These historic hotels have all faithfully maintained their authenticity, sense of place, and architectural integrity in the United States of America, including 46 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Historic Hotels of America is comprised of mostly independently owned and operated properties. More than 30 of the world’s finest hospitality brands, chains, and collections are represented in Historic Hotels of America. To be nominated and selected for membership into this prestigious program, a hotel must be at least 50 years old; has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior as a National Historic Landmark or listed in or eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places; and recognized as having historic significance. For more information, please visit

Click here to see the About Historic Hotels of America video. To view the Historic Hotels of America 2015 Annual Directory ebook or download the free app on iTunes, Amazon, Google play, and the Windows Store.   

Contact: Heather Taylor / +1 202 772 8333

Related News

Nobody Asked Me, But…No. 197: Hotel History: Ralph Hitz (1891-1940)

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 196: Hotel History: The Broadmoor Hotel, Colorado Springs, Colorado (779 rooms)

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 195: Hotel History: The Elephantine Colossus Hotel

Nominations Open for the 2018 Historic Hotels Awards of Excellence

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 194: Hotel History: John McEntee Bowman (1875-1931)

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 193: Hotel History: John McEntee Bowman*(1875-1931)

The Statler Dallas Celebrated as the 300th Hotel Inducted Into Historic Hotels of America

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 192; Hotel History: The Negro Motorist Green Book

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 191: Hotel History: “Buffalo Bill” Cody

CBRE Issues U.S. Lodging and 2018-2019 Historic Hotels Forecast at Historic Hotels of America Annual Conference

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 190: Hotel History: Moana Surfrider Hotel

30 Legendary Historic Hotels Inducted into Historic Hotels Worldwide in 2017

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 189; Hotel History: The Boar’s Head

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 188: Hotel History: The Pierre Hotel, New York City*

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 187: Hotel History: Hotel Galvez & Spa, Galveston, Texas

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 186: Hotel History: The Harvard Club of New York (1894)*

2017's Top 25 Most Haunted Historic Hotels from Historic Hotels of America

Nobody Asked Me, But… No. 185: Hotel History: The Peabody (1869)

Historic Hotels Names Winners of the 2017 Awards of Excellence

Expotel Hospitality to Open and Manage Historic 118 Room Hotel Indigo in Memphis, Tennessee

All News »

Please login or register to post a comment.