Total $0.00


Jan. 04--WARWICK, R.I. -- The inauguration of city officials Tuesday night was marked by pomp and circumstance and included an announcement of approvals of a new hotel on Jefferson Boulevard.

Mayor Scott Avedisian announced that D'Ambra Construction Co. has received all the approvals from the Rhode Island Commerce Corporation for a 120-room Hyatt Place Hotel on the boulevard near the airport, a more than $20-million project.

The hotel project had received preliminary approvals in June. A groundbreaking ceremony is expected to take place toward the end of the month, said press secretary Courtney Marciano.

Avedisian's choice of venue for the ceremony was another way to show off the city's economic development.

He spoke at the InterLink Skywalk at T.F. Green Airport, which connects the airport to commuter rail service.

When asked before the ceremony why it was held at the InterLink, Avedisian said it overlooked City Centre Warwick, where people can expect "growth and economic development over the next two years."

Avedisian spoke of past and future projects at City Centre Warwick, land around the airport visible from the InterLink being developed with residential and commercial projects.

He also said the runway extension at the airport will be able to accommodate larger planes.

"T.F. Green continues to be a significant part of Warwick's economic engine," he said.

Gov. Gina Raimondo, who also spoke at the ceremony, told attendees, "Warwick is lucky you don't have term limits," as Avedisian embarks on what will be his 17th year in office.

"Scott is a fighter and a champion and a champion for the city of Warwick," she said, noting that she attended many ribbon cuttings in the city and has helped welcome new companies entering the city.

Avedisian was sworn in by Retired Chief Judge of the Rhode Island Family Court Haiganush R. Bedrosian.

Avedisian then administered the oath to City Council and School Committee members-elect.

Newly elected to the nine-member City Council are Richard K. Corley, Ward 1; Jeremy Rix, Ward 2; Timothy J. Howe, Ward 3; and Stephen A. McAllister, Ward 7.

As for the School Committee, David A. Testa was elected while Karen A. Bachus was reelected.

Ward 4 Councilor Joseph J. Solomon was elected Council president.


(401) 277-7067

On Twitter: @CarolKozma

Related News

All News »