Hotel Online Press Releases 
 Changes Under Way for World's Largest Lodging Brand's Board of Directors
Phoenix, Ariz., Oct.27, 1997---Don L. Seaton, CHA, 32-year veteran of the hospitality industry has been elected chairman of the board of directors of Best Western International. Inc. The leadership of the world's largest lodging brand announced these positions at its first monthly meeting following general elections during the organization's September International Convention.

Seaton is chairman of Sea Wake Resorts and majority owner of Best Western Sea Stone Resort in Clearwater Beach, Fla., and the Best Western Crystal River Resort in Crystal River Fla. As Chairman, Seaton will serve a one-year term. He was first elected to the board in l991 and represents hoteliers in Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina and the Caribbean.

Serving as vice-chairman of the board is Mike Scholz, a 24-year veteran of the lodging industry and second-year member of the board. Scholz represents members in Idaho Montana North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington, Wyoming and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Scholz has been a member of Best Western since 1983 representing the Best Western Buck's T-4 Lodge in Big Sky Mont.

David L. Huff, Sr., CHA, will serve as the secretary/treasurer. Huff, who was elected to the board in 1993, represents hoteliers in Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, West Virginia, Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania, the District of Columbia New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, New Hampshire. Vermont, Maine and the
Canadian provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. The 20-year industry professional is the owner of the Best Western Green Tree in Clarksville, Ind.

 Best Western International is governed by a seven-member board. Each member of the board must be a Best Western hotelier and is elected for a three-year term by other Best Western members in the chain's seven North American geographic districts. Officers of the board are elected annually.

Other members of the board are Mark Brown, CHA, of Estes Park, Colorado, Loren Unruh, of Great Bend, Kansas., Cynthia L. Binkele, CHA, of San Luis Obis, California and John Van Duyn, CHA, of Dubuque, Iowa.

Best Western International, Inc., is a membership-driven organization that has supported hoteliers with a variety of services to ensure competitive pricing, quality accommodations and consistent dedication to guest satisfaction for 51 years. Best Western International is the world's largest lodging brand with more than 3,700 hotels in 75 countries and territories throughout North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, the Middle East and the South Pacific.

Gillian Silver, Public Relations Director, 602-957-5802
Carolyn Hicks, Member Publicist, 602-957-5671

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.Online Search
Back to Hotel.Online Press Releases
Home | Welcome! | Hospitality News | Classifieds | Catalogs & Pricing | Viewpoint Forum | Ideas/Trends
Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.