Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


American Hotel & Lodging Association Presents 2012 John Whitaker Award
to James G. Weitkamp, Vice President, Harbor Linen, LLC

State Leadership Awards Presented to Members of Each Partner State Association
in Recognition of Their Assistance with AH&LA Programs

Washington, D.C., February 29, 2012
– The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AH&LA) announced the winners of the John Whitaker Award and the State Leadership Awards during the first day of the association’s annual Legislative Action Summit (LAS). 
James G Weitkamp, MHS, vice president, Harbor Linen, LLC, received the 2012 John Whitaker Award, which is presented to an outstanding hotel supplier for their dedication to and innovation within the industry.  The AH&LA Allied Executive Council selects the award recipient, which is named for a long-time hospitality veteran who served as international sales manager for SICO America, Inc., until his death in 2007.  A 40-year hospitality industry veteran, Weitkamp was previously with Biscayne Chemical and Australian manufacturer James G. Hardy & Co.  He serves on the AH&LA Allied Executive Board and the AH&LA Certification Committee, and was awarded CMHS Emeritus in 2008.
The State Leadership Awards, formerly known as the Most Valuable Volunteer Awards, were created in 1998 to honor standout members in each partner state association who help implement and strengthen programs. Award recipients, who are chosen by AH&LA’s partner state associations, included the following:
Doug Yonko
Director of Communications, Hensley Beverage Company
Phoenix, AZ 
Kurt Schatzl
General Manager, Embassy Suites Hot Springs
Hot Springs, AR
Pam Richardson
Solana Beach, CA
Kjell Mitchell
General Manager/Partner, Glenwood Hot Springs Lodge and Pool
Glenwood Springs, CO
Bruce Craul
Chief Operating Officer, Legendary Inc.
Destin, FL
Bo Laterveer
AAA Parking
Atlanta, GA
Kelvin Bloom
President and CEO, Aston Hotels & Resorts
Honolulu, HI
John Wells
General Manager, Hilton Chicago Hotel
Chicago, IL
Bob Allen
General Manager, Marriott Renaissance Harborplace Hotel
Baltimore, MD
Patrick B. Moscaritolo
President and CEO, Greater Boston Convention & Visitors Bureau
Boston, MA
Mike Scholz     
Owner, Buck’s T-4 Lodge
Big Sky, MT 
Joel Griffin
Griffin Stafford Hospitality, LLC
Asheville, NC
Mike Farney
General Manager, Wyndham Garden Hotel Oklahoma City Airport
Oklahoma City, OK
James Purdum, CHA
General Manager, Penn State Hospitality Services
State College, PA
Daniel Hostettler, CHA
President and Managing Director, Ocean House
Westerly, RI
Michael Gibson
Chief Executive Officer, M. Gibson Hotels Group
Knoxville, TN 
Scott Huth, CHA
President, Guests, Inc.
Strasburg, VA
Connie Barbian
Partner, Business Development and Marketing, Inn Development and Management
Fort Atkinson, WI

For more information on the State Leadership Awards or the John Whitaker Award, please visit

About AH&LA
Serving the hospitality industry for a century, AH&LA is the sole national association representing all sectors and stakeholders in the lodging industry, including individual hotel property members, hotel companies, student and faculty members, and industry suppliers. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., AH&LA provides members with national advocacy on Capitol Hill, public relations and image management, education, research and information, and other value-added services to provide bottom line savings and ensure a positive business climate for the lodging industry. Partner state associations provide local representation and additional cost-saving benefits to members.


Kathryn Potter
[email protected]

  Receive Your Hospitality Industry Headlines via Email for Free! Subscribe Here

To Learn More About Your News Being Published on Hotel-Online Inquire Here
Also See: American Hotel & Lodging Association Presents 2011 John Whitaker Award to David Goldstone and State Leadership Awards to Members of Each Partner State Association in Recognition of Their Assistance with AH&LA Programs / March 2011

American Hotel & Lodging Association Quizzes Hoteliers on Mandatory Americans with Disabilities Act 2010 Regulations; Deadline to Comply with ADA is March 15, 2011 / March 2011

Mayur Chheda Of Infinity Hotel Group Named To American Hotel & Lodging Association (AH&LA) Board Of Directors / February 2011

Joe Martin Takes Role of 2009 American Hotel & Lodging Association Chairman John Campbell Elected Secretary/treasurer, Will Serve as Chairman in 2011 / November 2008

The AH&LA Elects David Kong as 2008 Secretary/treasurer; The President and CEO of Best Western International Will Serve as the Association’s Chairman in 2010 / November 2007

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch

Home | Welcome | Hospitality News
| Industry Resources

Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.