Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association Names the Finalists
and Recipients of the 2011 Spirit of Hospitality Awards

May 2011 - The PA Tourism & Lodging Association (PTLA) held its Annual Spirit of Hospitality Awards Reception and Dinner on May 2, 2011, at the Best Western Premier Eden Resort and Suites in Lancaster.

These prestigious awards recognize exceptional performance, commitment and achievements in the hospitality and tourism industry throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The presentations were made by: Christopher Barrett, President & CEO of the PA Dutch Convention & Visitors Bureau; and James Purdum, CHA, General Manager, Penn State Hospitality Services, The Pennsylvania State University and Chairman of the PTLA Board of Directors.

The recipients and finalists of the 2011 Spirit of Hospitality Awards are:

2011 Teacher of the Year

Recipient: Robert Craft, Erie County Technical School

2011 Student of the Year
Recipient: Colleen Miller, Widener University, School of Hospitality Management

2011 Community Service Award
Recipient: Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh
Finalist: The Shawnee Inn & Golf Resort
Finalist: Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park

2010 Innkeeper of the Year
Recipient: Kathy Vogt, Vogt Farm Bed & Breakfast
Finalist: Jan Garrabrandt, The Artist’s Inn

2011 General Manager of the Year
Recipient: Daniel Johnson, Holiday Inn Conference Center of York
Finalist: Paul Newmaster, Pittsburgh Airport Marriott
Finalist: Al Iverson, Holiday Inn Fort Washington

2011 Department Manager of the Year
Recipient: Edward Shimanski, Hershey Lodge
Finalist: Valerie Batterson, Hershey Lodge
Finalist: Janet Brittingham, Peddler’s Village

2011 Guest Relations Award

Recipient: Maxine Tsang, Philadelphia Downtown Courtyard Marriott
Finalist: Darryl Cann, Omni William Penn Place
Finalist: Allison Graffius, Hilton Harrisburg

2011 Lodging Employee of the Year

Recipient: Jerome Smith, The Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Finalist: Jason Herzog, Hyatt Regency Pittsburgh
Finalist: Mary Piper, Hilton Harrisburg

The 2011 Spirit of Hospitality Awards Reception and Dinner was sponsored by OnDemand Energy, Dauphin County Lodging Association, Mazza Vineyards, and Best Western Premier Eden Resort and Suites.

The PA Tourism & Lodging Association is a private, non-profit, membership-based association that exists to advocate, support, promote and enhance the tourism and lodging industry within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It provides lobbying, education and professional development opportunities, information and other resources as well as value-adding services to its members to ensure their—and the industry’s—ongoing growth and success.

Eric Adams, Director of Communications
(717) 232-8880 x104

. Receive Your Hospitality Industry Headlines via Email for Free! Subscribe Here

To Learn More About Your News Being Published on Hotel-Online Inquire Here

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch

Home | Welcome | Hospitality News
| Industry Resources

Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.