Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


HSMAI Greater New York Chapter Presents Annual Hospitality Industry
Honors, Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award

Mercedes Benz Fashion Week and IMG Fashion Recognized for Impact on Tourism

NEW YORK, NY (June 15, 2011) – The Greater New York Chapter of the Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI) has named the 2011 honorees for the Annual Hospitality Awards of Excellence.  The awards were presented on June 8, 2011 along with the 18th Annual Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award, this year going to Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week, produced by IMG Fashion.

For 2011, the HSMAI Greater New York Chapter named five individuals honored for their outstanding work and dedication to the hospitality industry and the sales and marketing profession.  The following honorees were named for 2011:
  • Hotel General Manager of the Year: Frank C. Nicholas, CHA, General Manager, Wyndham Garden Times Square South
  • Sales & Marketing Executive of the Year: Adele Gutman Milne, Vice President of Sales & Marketing for HK Hotels
  • Revenue Management Professional of the Year: Tom Buoy, CRME, Senior Vice President Revenue Management, Morgans Hotel Group
  • Hospitality Professional of the Year: Sean Hennessey, CEO, Lodging Advisors, LLC
  • Hospitality Student of the Year: Sooyon Park, New York University-Preston Robert Tisch Center for Hospitality, Tourism and Sports Management

Pictured (left to right): Hospitality Professional of the Year Sean Hennessey, CEO, Lodging Advisors LLC; Michelle Hennessey;
 Greater New York Chapter of HSMAI Board Member Jim Rowe, Senior Partner, MME; and Greater New York Chapter of HSMAI
Chapter President, Louis Zameryka, Regional Manager-Eastern USA,

“These five individuals were the tops among our outstanding hospitality industry executives that have lead New York City back to tourism health following the economic challenges we all faced over the past few years,” said Markus Boeker, of, Immediate Past President of the HSMAI Greater New York Chapter. “The Frank W. Berkman Awards Gala remains unequaled for the recognition as well as the prominence of hospitality industry dignitary attendance,” Boeker added.

The Annual Tourism Achievement Award is presented by the Past Presidents of the HSMAI Greater New York Chapter to recognize and honor individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to the tourism industry in New York City.

The inaugural Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week at Lincoln Center featured more than 90 of the world’s most established and up-and-coming designers presenting their collections for Spring 2011. Each year, the more than 230,000 attendees at New York’s Fashion Weeks generate new economic activity for New York City businesses, accounting for more than $466 million in direct visitor spending and generating more than $770 million in economic activity in New York City.

"The impact of Fashion Week on our hospitality industry speaks to the spirit of our annual Frank W. Berkman Tourism Achievement Award as Fashion Week is one of the annual highlights of our New York City tourism calendar as well," said Frank Stapleton, Co-Chair of the Frank W. Berkman Awards Committee for the Past Presidents of HSMAI Greater New York Chapter.

Peter Levy, Senior Vice President and Managing Director for IMG Fashion Worldwide, accepted the award at the Frank W. Berkman black-tie dinner acknowledging the crucial importance of the tourism industry to Fashion Week and vowing to continue their efforts to promote New York as a focal point for fashion year round.

Pictured (left to right): Greater New York Chapter of HSMAI Immediate Past President Markus Boeker,
Senior Marketing Manager/Americas, Orbitz Worldwide, presenting the award to Peter Levy,
Senior Vice President and Managing Director for IMG Fashion Worldwide.

Frank W. Berkman, CHME, was a former Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of HSMAI for 16 years. This award was created in 1994 by the Past President’s Council of the HSMAI Greater New York Chapter and was named after Berkman because of his dedication to building HSMAI into the highly-influential international hospitality industry organization it is today.

Previous recipients recognized for their outstanding contributions to the tourism industry in New York City include:

Times Square Alliance
2009 United States Tennis Association U.S. Open
New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg
Radio City Christmas Spectacular starring the Rockettes
2006 Jonathan Tisch, Chairman and CEO of Loews Hotels
ING New York City Marathon
2004 The Mayor's Office of Film, Theatre & Broadcasting
2002 FDNY, EMTs, NYPD & Port Authority Police
2001 Starwood Hotels
The League of American Theatre & Producers
The Today Show
1998 Donald Trump
1997 Mayor Rudolph Giulliani
1996 Arthur Surin, Senior Vice President of Hilton Hotels Corporation
1995 Robert Preston Tisch, Chairman of the Board for Loews Hotels
Charles Gillette, Chair of the New York Convention & Visitors Bureau

HSMAI is an organization of sales and marketing professionals representing all segments of the hospitality industry.  With a strong focus on education, HSMAI has become the industry champion in identifying and communicating trends in the hospitality industry, and bringing together customers and members at annual events.  Founded in 1927, HSMAI is an individual membership organization comprising more than 7,000 members worldwide, with 39 chapters in the Americas Region with the Greater New York Chapter being the largest.

For more information on HSMAI, contact Kathie Stapleton at phone: 914-762-1456; fax: 914-944-9227; or e-mail:

Richard S. Kahn
(516) 594-4100

Receive Your Hospitality Industry Headlines via Email for Free! Subscribe Here

To Learn More About Your News Being Published on Hotel-Online Inquire Here
Also See: HSMAI’s Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex Chapter Winner of Two Frank W. Berkman Awards / March 2011

HSMAI Awards Greater New York Chapter its 2010 “Chapter of the Year” Award at its Annual Leadership Conference / February 2011

HSMAI's DFW Chapter Announces 2011 Board of Directors; Kimberly Hutcherson Elected 2011 Chapter President / Dec 2010

HSMAI Declares New Mission and Names 2011 Board Of Directors & Executive Committee; Association Reaffirms Emphasis on Helping Hotels and Their Partners Grow Business / February 2011

HSMAI and National Geographic Traveler to Honor First Ever ‘Leader In Sustainable Tourism’ Awards at Adrian Awards Gala January 31; Finalists Include Fairmont Hotels, Hotel Punta Islita/Costa Rica, Inkaterra/Peru, Namibia/Africa and The Boat Company/Alaska / January 2011

HSMAI Names the Top 25 Minds in Hospitality and Travel Sales and Marketing; Winners to be Honored at Reception and Adrian Awards Gala January 31 / January 2011

HSMAI Names the Top 25 Minds in Hospitality and Travel Sales and Marketing; Winners to be Honored at Adrian Awards Gala / January 2010

HSMAI Names the 37 Advertising Division Award Winners, the 53 Public Relations Division Award Winners and the 33 Web Marketing Division Award Winners for the Year 2009 / December 2009

HSMAI's 52nd Adrian Awards Honors Top Companies and Individuals in Hospitality Advertising, Public Relastions and Web Marketing / January 2009

HSMAI's Adrian Awards, Known as the “Oscars” of Travel and Hospitality Marketing, Presented at Gala In New York City / February 2008

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch

Home | Welcome | Hospitality News
| Industry Resources

Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.