Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


HSMAI Honors Nancy Friedman with the Winthrop W. Grice
Lifetime Achievement Award

Award to be Presented at the 2010 HSMAI Adrian Awards Gala January 31, 2011

McClean, Va. (November 9, 2010) – The Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI) is pleased to announce that Nancy Friedman, President of Nancy J. Friedman Public Relations, will receive the Winthrop W. Grice Lifetime Achievement Award for Public Relations at the 2010 HSMAI Adrian Awards Gala, January 31, 2011, at the New York Marriott Marquis.
“We are proud to recognize Nancy, both for her in-depth understanding of the travel industry, as well as her strategic work in media relations,” said Robert Gilbert, President and CEO of HSMAI. “Nancy is highly regarded by peers for her innovation, and by her clients for her results.”

Friedman has had an extensive career in travel, entertainment and destination public relations. She founded Nancy J. Friedman Public Relations – which specializes in travel, hospitality and lifestyle public relations – in New York in 1987. With her “no stone unturned” media philosophy and keen instinct for finding a story, Friedman has generated thousands of client headlines during her career – from stories in every section of The New York Times to glossy features in magazines, broadcast and online outlets. She has been the Chairman of the Friends Committee of the American Cancer Society’s New York City chapter and is a member of the Society of American Travel Writers (SATW), the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), Hospitality Sales and Marketing Association International (HSMAI) and has been involved with the Eastern Ski Writers Association and Caribbean Tourism Organization. She is a passionate traveler, tennis player, skier, cyclist, foodie, media junkie, wife and mother of two teens.

The Winthrop W. Grice Award was named in honor of Winthrop W. “Bud” Grice, CHME, a long-time senior marketing executive with Marriott, who was the award’s first designate. Other winners include: Laura Davidson, Yvonne Middleton, Peggy R. Bendel, René A. Mack, Lou Hammond, Bunny Grossinger, Herbert D. Kelleher, Steve Wynn, Alan Fredericks, Donald J. Trump, Florence Quinn, and Vivian A. Deuschl. A selection committee, comprised of 11 former recipients of the award, reviews the credentials of the nominees chosen by HSMAI members before selecting winners.
The HSMAI Adrian Awards honor creative brilliance and best practices in hospitality, travel, and tourism-related marketing. In its 54th year, the competition has evolved into the world’s most renowned and prestigious advertising, public relations, and digital marketing competition customized to the hospitality, travel and tourism industries. For information on the HSMAI Adrian Awards and the Gala, visit  
HSMAI is the hospitality industry source for knowledge, community, and recognition for leaders committed to professional development, sales growth, revenue optimization, marketing, and branding. With a strong focus on education, HSMAI has become the industry champion in identifying and communicating trends in the hospitality industry, and bringing together customers and members at annual events, including HSMAI's Affordable Meetings®. Founded in 1927, HSMAI is an individual membership organization comprising more than 7,000 members worldwide, with 40 chapters in the Americas Region. For more information on HSMAI, contact the Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International, 1760 Old Meadow Road, Suite 500, McLean, Va. 22102; (703) 506-3280; fax (703) 506-3266, or visit the website at Join our social networking communities on Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook.  

Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International
1760 Old Meadow Road, Suite 500
McLean, Va. 22102; (703) 506-3280

Also See: Sol Kerzner and Vivian Deuschl Recipients of HSMAI Lifetime Achievement Awards; Recipients to Accept Honors at HSMAI Adrian Awards Gala Feb. 1, 2010 / October 2009

Ian Schrager and Laura Davidson to Receive HSMAI Lifetime Achievement Awards / November 2007

HSMAI's 52nd Adrian Awards Honors Top Companies and Individuals in Hospitality Advertising, Public Relastions and Web Marketing / January 2009

HSMAI to Honor Barbara M. Talbott with the Koehl Award and Yvonne Middleton with the Grice Award / October 2006

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.