Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


Texas Hotel & Lodging Association
Names 2010 Officers and Board

Barron Hobbs, GM of the Hilton College Station & Conference Center,
Elected Chairman of the Board

Austin, Texas - The Board of Directors of the Texas Hotel & Lodging Association (THLA) has announced its 2010 Officers and Board of Directors with representation coming from all areas of the state.

Barron Hobbs, General Manager of the 303-room Hilton College Station & Conference Center, has been elected to serve as the THLA Chairman of the Board in 2010. 

Hobbs has over 50 years experience in the lodging industry, with his first position as a bellman at the Key Bridge Marriott Hotel in Washington, D.C. at the age of 15.  After attending the University of Tennessee, Hobbs rejoined Marriott Hotels in Dallas.  With Marriott, he held management positions in Houston, New Orleans, and Miami prior to joining Sunbelt Hotels in 1979.  In 1994, Hobbs was named General Manager of the Hilton College Station & Conference Center. 

In addition to serving on THLA’s Board of Directors for over 20 years, Hobbs is a past President of the Brazos Valley Lodging Association, and serves on the Board of Directors for the Bryan-College Station Convention & Visitors Bureau, and the Board for the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo.  He also serves on the Brazos County Oversight Committee that administers the two percent expo center hotel occupancy tax. Always active in his local community, Hobbs sponsors adopt-a-school programs and recently raised thousands of dollars for a local school in Bryan.  He is a believer in giving back to the community, a theme that he advocates for his entire staff. 

Scott Joslove, THLA President & CEO, commented that “Hobbs not only brings an incredible background in the hotel industry, but is a strong and trusted advocate on behalf of area hoteliers at the local, regional, and state level.” 

Joe Palmieri, General Manager of the 1200-room Hilton Americas in Houston, has been elected to serve as the 1st Vice President of THLA in 2010.  Palmieri will ascend to Chairman of the Board in 2011. 

John Imaizumi, Senior Vice President and General Manager of the 1,511-room Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center in Grapevine, will be 2nd Vice President for 2010.  Imaizumi will ascend to the position of Chairman of the Board in 2012. 

And Al DeBerry, Area Director with Tharaldson Lodging Companies, has been named to the 2010 Executive Committee of the State lodging association.  DeBerry served as Chairman of the THLA Board in 2009 and is currently President of the Hotel Association of Tarrant County 

Board members are responsible for setting long-term strategic plans, goals, legislative positions, and direction of services for THLA, the largest state lodging association in the United States.  TH&LA has been recognized three times for having the Best Governmental Affairs Program of any hotel association in the nation and twice for having the Best Membership Program. 

Hoteliers named to the 2010 THLA Board of Directors are:

Steve DeWire - Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort & Spa
Kevin Latone - Omni Austin Southpark
Gene McMenamin - Omni Austin Downtown
Roger Millar - Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Donna Mittel – Accommodations of Gastehaus Schmidt Fredericksburg
Kathy Patel - Days Inn Waco
Tony Sahyoun - Wyndham Hotel Austin
Debbie Simmons - Clarion Inn & Suites Austin
Andy Slater - Hilton Hotels Corporation Austin
Suren Suthar - Days Inn & Suites Round Rock
Michael Thomas - Marriott Horseshoe Bay Resort
Jeff Trigger - La Corsha Hospitality Group Austin
James Walsh - Barton Creek Resort & Spa Austin
Ralph Ehrlich, Hospitality Consultant, Corpus Christi
Rick Patel, Radisson Hotel Corpus Christi Beach, Corpus Christi
Jack Rush, Port Royal Ocean Resort, Port Aransas
John Allsup, Aimbridge Hospitality, Carrolton
Randy Baugher, Courtyard Dallas/Richardson Spring Valley, Richardson
Ron Bleeker, American Heritage House B&B, Granbury
Ronnie Breaux, Hospitality Consulting Specialists, Flower Mound
Mark Brooks, Marriott-Quorum By The Galleria Mall, Dallas
Al DeBerry, Tharaldson Enterprises, Flower Mound
Joe  DePalma, DePalma Hotel Corporation, Arlington
Terri Dolan, Marriott Hotels Regional Office, Plano
Yale Feldman, Inter-Continental Hotel – Dallas, Addison
John Imaizumi, Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center, Grapevine
Angelo Lombardi, La Quinta Inns, Inc., Irving
Ken Masters, Country Inn & Suites, Fort Worth
Matthew Newton, Magnolia Lodging, Carrollton
. Jags Patel, Q Hotels, Arlington
Nancy Sorrells, Marriott - DFW Airport South, Fort Worth
Bill Bianchi, MCM Elegante Hotel, Beaumont
John Bowen, Conrad N. Hilton College of HRM, Houston
Theresa Elliott, Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, Galveston
John Esgate, Sheraton Brookhollow, Houston
Delaina Hanssen, Beacon Hill Guest House B&B, Seabrook
Barron Hobbs, Hilton Conference Center, College Station
Doug Horn, Houstonian Estates, Houston
Jim Mills, The Houstonian Hotel, Club & Spa, Houston
Garvin O'Neil, Moody Gardens Hotel, Galveston
Joe Palmieri, Hilton Americas Houston, Houston
Hasu Patel, Howard Johnson Express, Houston
Tom Rosepink, Marriott Airport @ Bush Intercontinental, Houston
Paul Schultz, The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center, Galveston
Rob Meyer, Arbor Inn & Suites, Lubbock
Phyllis Payne, Ambassador Hotel, Amarillo
Ben Baker, Marriott Courtyard River Village, New Braunfels
Bill Brendel, Crockett Hotel San Antonio, San Antonio
Henry Feldman, Martin Feldman Hospitality Management, San Antonio
Dan Henry, Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Seguin
Shawn Kenworthy, Holiday Inn Lackland, San Antonio
Larry Murphy, Crowne Plaza Hotel Airport, San Antonio
Prat Patel, Holiday Inn Lackland, San Antonio
Bob Zachariah, La Quinta Inn, Laredo
Rich Cane, Cane Hotel Company, El Paso
Joe Frandina, Holiday Inn Express El Paso Central, El Paso
Ron Sanders, Forever Resorts, Alpine
Scott Zaruba, Inn of The Conchos, San Angelo

Based in Austin, the Texas Hotel & Lodging Association serves over 2,400 member bed and breakfasts, guest ranches, inns, hotels, motels, resorts, and hospitality-related businesses across the state by providing governmental affairs representation, operational, marketing, educational, and communications services. 


Texas Hotel & Lodging Association
Scott Joslove, President & CEO

Also See: Texas Hotel & Motel Association Launches New Web Site / July 1998

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.