Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association Recognizes
Recipients of the 2010 Spirit of Hospitality Awards

General Manager of the Year is Robert Howell, The Shawnee Inn & Golf Resort

April 29, 2010 - The PA Tourism & Lodging Association (PTLA) held its Annual Spirit of Hospitality Awards Reception and Dinner on April 26, 2010, at the Sheraton Harrisburg - Hershey Hotel. These prestigious awards recognize exceptional performance, commitment and achievements in the hospitality and tourism industry throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

The presentations were made by: J. Mickey Rowley, Deputy Secretary, Tourism Film & Marketing, PA Department of Community and Economic Development; and James Purdum, CHA, General Manager, Penn State Hospitality Services, The Pennsylvania State University and Chairman of the PTLA Board of Directors.

The recipients and finalists of the 2010 Spirit of Hospitality Awards are:

2010 Innkeeper of the Year
Recipient: Denise Fegan, Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast
Finalist: Matthew Knol, Golden Plough Inn at Peddler’s Village

2010 General Manager of the Year
Recipient: Robert Howell, The Shawnee Inn & Golf Resort
Finalist: Tim McGlothlin, The Priory Hotel
Finalist: Noreen O’Boyle, Holiday Inn Express

2010 Department Manager of the Year
Recipient: Recipient: Laurie McEvoy, Woodloch Resort
Finalist: Scott Comport, Hershey Lodge
Finalist: Stephanie Legros, Loews Philadelphia Hotel

2010 Guest Relations Award
Recipient: Dutch Wonderland Ambassador Program,
Finalist: Best Western Eden Resort’s Guest Relations Program
Finalist: Patrice Collins, Sheraton Station Square Hotel

2010 Lodging Employee of the Year
Recipient: Bessie Greene, Hilton Inn at Penn
Finalist: David Jones, Hilton Harrisburg
Finalist: Kathy Simons, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

2010 Teacher of the Year
Recipient: Donna Harris, Columbia Montour Area Vocational Technical School

2010 Student of the Year
Recipient: James Salisbury, Temple University

2010 Community Service Award
Recipient: Adopt a Family, Hershey Lodge
Finalist: Hospitality for Life, Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Finalist: Martin Luther King Fund Drive, VisitPittsburgh

2010 Associate Member of the Year
Recipient: Philadelphia OIC, Inc

The 2010 Spirit of Hospitality Awards Reception and Dinner was sponsored by Black Consulting Services, Dauphin County Lodging Association, Greater Pittsburgh Hotel Association, Mazza Vineyards, Sheraton Harrisburg - Hershey Hotel, and Superior Drapery.

The PA Tourism & Lodging Association is a private, non-profit, membership-based association that exists to advocate, support, promote and enhance the tourism and lodging industry within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It provides lobbying, education and professional development opportunities, information and other resources as well as value-adding services to its members to ensure their—and the industry’s—ongoing growth and success.


PA Tourism & Lodging Association 
Eric Adams, Director of Publications & Technology 
(717) 232-8880 x104

Also See: Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association Names Craig Poole, GM of Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Airport, the 2009 General Manger of the Year / May 2009

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.