Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive




Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association Announces
Recipients for the 2009 Spirit of Hospitality Awards

The PA Tourism & Lodging Association (PTLA) held its Annual Spirit of Hospitality Awards Reception on April 27, 2009, at the Radisson Valley Forge Hotel in King of Prussia. These prestigious awards recognize outstanding performance, commitment, and achievements in the hospitality and tourism industry throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The event, held in the beautiful Waterford Room, featured an upscale reception with wines sponsored by Mazza Vineyards and a wide array of hors d'oeuvre. The presentations were made by: J. Mickey Rowley, Deputy Secretary, Tourism Film & Marketing, PA Department of Community and Economic Development; and James Purdum, CHA, General Manager, Penn State Hospitality Services, The Pennsylvania State University and Vice-Chairman of the PTLA Board of Directors.

The recipients and finalists of the 2009 Spirit of Hospitality Awards are:
2009 Student of the Year
Recipient: Theresa S. Bova, Widener University

2009 Guest Relations Award
Recipient: Kelley Mishler, Valley Forge CVB
Finalist: Bessie Greene, Hilton Inn at Penn
Finalist: Twila Wynn, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
2009 Community Service Award
Recipient: Punxsutawney Groundhog Club Inner Circle
Finalist: Martin Luther King Fund Drive, Visit Pittsburgh
Finalist: Wedding For Alex, Omni Hotel at Independence Park
2009 Innkeeper of the Year
Recipient: Kathryn White, The Beechmont Inn
Finalist: Denise “Dee” Fegan, Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast
Finalist: John E. Graf, The Priory Hotel
2009 Associate Member of the Year
Recipient: Angela Thomas, Latsha Davis Yohe & McKenna
Finalist: Doug Lynn, Superior Drapery
Finalist: Jason Stock, First Finish, Inc.
2009 General Manager of the Year
Recipient: Craig Poole, Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Airport
Finalist: Rob Howell, The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
Finalist: Dan Richardson, Holiday Inn Harrisburg West
2009 Department Manager of the Year
Recipient: Dave Racicot, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
Finalist: Phillip Neiswender, Hilton Harrisburg
Finalist: Edward T. Shimanski, The Hershey Lodge
2009 Lodging Employee of the Year
Recipient: Carmen Serrano, Hilton Garden Inn Hotel Philadelphia
Finalist: Jasmine Carmona, Lancaster Arts Hotel
Finalist: Mary Miller, Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Center

The PA Tourism & Lodging Association is a private, non-profit, membership-based association that exists to advocate, support, promote and enhance the tourism and lodging industry within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. It provides lobbying, education and professional development opportunities, information and other resources as well as value-adding services to its members to ensure their—and the industry’s—ongoing growth and success.


Eric Adams
PA Tourism & Lodging Association
Director of Publications & Technology
128 Walnut Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
(717) 232-8880 x104


To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.Online Search

Home | Welcome! | Hospitality News | Classifieds | Catalogs & Pricing | Viewpoint Forum | Ideas/Trends
Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.