Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive



Choice Hotels Australasia Acknowledges Top
Performing Individuals and Hotels
Hotels in Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne and Tamworth Named Peak Performers for 2008

October 6, 2008 - Hotels in Adelaide, Brisbane, Melbourne and Tamworth were named Choice Hotels Australasia’s (CHA) peak performers for 2008 at the group’s annual awards ceremony and dinner in Sydney last night.

Taking out the Franchisee of the Year titles in their respective brand categories were: 

  • Brisbane’s Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens, 
  • Tamworth’s Quality Hotel Powerhouse, 
  • Melbourne’s Clarion Suites Gateway and 
  • Adelaide’s Rendezvous Allegra Hotel Adelaide - Clarion Collection
CHA Managing Director David Bayes presented the awards during a spectacular gala dinner at Star City on the final evening of the group’s annual conference.

Mr Bayes said more than 300 guests from CHA’s 280 properties across Australia and New Zealand attended the awards.

“This year’s winning franchisees are considered the cream of the crop in their particular brand categories and we’re very proud to highlight their success in demonstrating Choice Hotels’ values and commitment to service,” Mr Bayes said.

The winning hotels were selected from a shortlist of 27 CHA Gold Award winners across the group’s four brands – Comfort, Quality, Clarion and Clarion Collection.

Nominated and judged by an executive panel comprising members from Choice’s senior management and franchise service team, the Gold Awards recognise excellence in such business areas as branding, marketing, customer relations, franchisor relations, training and development, profitability and amenities.

Champion of Choice awards were also presented to individuals from various properties throughout Australasia to recognise qualities of exceptional service, individual effort and commitment to building the Choice brand (winners list attached).

Franchisees of the Year

Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens, Brisbane QLD
Quality Hotel Powerhouse, Tamworth NSW
Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne VIC
Rendezvous Allegra Hotel Adelaide - Clarion Collection, Adelaide SA

Gold Awards

Comfort Inn All Seasons, Ballina NSW
Comfort Inn Glenfield, Toowoomba QLD
Comfort Inn Balmoral On York, Launceston TAS
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna, Bendigo VIC
Comfort Inn Capital Horsham, Horsham VIC
Comfort Inn Ringwood Lake, Ringwood (Melbourne) VIC
Comfort Inn Campbell, Swan Hill VIC
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, Wodonga VIC
Comfort Inn Albany, Albany WA
Comfort Inn Lincoln Downs, Batemans Bay NSW
Comfort Hotel Perth City, Perth WA
Comfort Resort Echuca Moama, Moama NSW
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views, Ballarat VIC
Comfort Hotel Adelaide Riviera, Adelaide SA
Quality Inn City Centre, Coffs Harbour NSW
Quality Hotel NOAH’S On The Beach, Newcastle NSW
Quality Hotel Cambridge, Sydney NSW
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway, Wangaratta VIC
Quality Resort Horizons Snowy Mountains, Jindabyne NSW
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters, Mermaid Waters (Gold Coast) QLD
Quality Hotel Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina, Mackay QLD
Edgewater Palms - Clarion Collection, Paihia, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Champions of Choice

Atin Aggarwal, Comfort Hotel Perth City
Julie Hett, Comfort Inn Admiral
Matt Yuryevich, Quality Inn Railway
Cellina Little, Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
Michelle Allsop, Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Warren Furlonger, Quality Inn City Centre
Darryl Brown, Quality Inn City Centre
Jo Matthews, Comfort Inn All Seasons 
Karen Galliene, Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth
Olenka Nota, Quality Hotel Woden
Peter Buckland, Quality Resort Sails
Steven Gargano, Quality Hotel Cambridge
Fay Arnold, Comfort Hotel Wellington
Claire Richards, Quality Hotel Cargills
Ann Cowan, Comfort Inn Melbourne Lodge
Mark Shillito, Chateau Blanc Suites - Clarion Collection
Trevor Donaldson, Comfort Inn Balmoral on York
Dan Treow, Quality Hotel Frontier Darwin
Abby Butterfield, Rendezvous Allegra Hotel Adelaide - Clarion Collection

Winners of CHA’s Franchisee of the Year awards automatically go into the running for Choice Hotels International’s International Hotel of the Year Awards held in Washington DC in May 2009.

Image caption: CHA Managing Director David Bayes with Franchisee of the Year award winners. 
LtoR: Tony Cakmar (Clarion Suites Gateway, Melbourne); David Bayes; Abby Butterfield – Rendezvous Allegra Hotel Adelaide Clarion Collection, Adelaide; Jye Segboer (Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth,); and Steve Ryan (Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens, Brisbane).


Jasmine Cook
MG Media Communications
(02) 9904 0011

Also See: Rendezvous Hotels International Reflags Six Hotels to the Choice Clarion Brand / October 2003
Choice Hotels Australasia Acknowledges Top Performing Individuals and Hotels / September 2007

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.