Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association Honors
the Recipients of the Spirit of Hospitality Award
Eric DeStefano, Omni William Penn Hotel, Pittsburgh, Named General Manager of the Year

May 1, 2008 - The PA Tourism & Lodging Association held its Annual Spirit of Hospitality Awards Reception on April 28, 2008, at the Holiday Inn Harrisburg East.

These prestigious awards recognize outstanding performance, commitment, and achievements in the hospitality and tourism industry throughout the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

The event featured the Vivace String Quartet and an outstanding selection of fine Hors D¹Oeuvres prepared by the extraordinary culinary staff of the Holiday Inn.  The presentations were made by; J. Mickey Rowley, Deputy Secretary, Pennsylvania Tourism Office and James Purdum, CHA, General Manager, Hospitality Services, The Pennsylvania State University and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors, PA Tourism & Lodging Association.
The Association is pleased to announce the Finalists and Recipients of the 2008 Spirit of Hospitality Awards.

Lodging Employee of the Year
Recipient - Bessie Green, The Hilton Inn at Penn, Philadelphia
Finalist - Irina Bugariu, Hotel Sofitel Philadelphia
Finalist - Jermaine Brunson, The Hilton Inn at Penn, Philadelphia
Department Manager of the Year
Recipient - Christie Gumble, Great Wolf Lodge, Scotrun
Finalist - Charlie Gipe, Hershey Entertainment Complex
Finalist - Edward T. Shimanski, Hershey Lodge
General Manager of the Year
Recipient - Eric DeStefano, Omni William Penn Hotel, Pittsburgh
Finalist - Rob Howell, The Shawnee Inn & Golf Resort
Finalist - Michael Ritter, The Historic Strasburg Inn
Innkeeper of the Year
Recipient - Nancy Noll, The Queen, A Victorian Bed & Breakfast, Bellefonte
Community Service Award
Recipient - Great Wolf Lodge, Scotrun
Guest Relations Award
Recipient - PA Dutch Convention & Visitors Bureau, Lancaster
Student of the Year
Recipient - Angelo Blakey, nominated by The Pennsylvania State University
Recipient - Jackie Kluger, nominated by Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Mark L. Krotulski CHA
Director of Education
(717) 232-8880 X102

Also See: Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association Names Phillip Murray, Historic Gettysburg Hotel, General Manager of the Year / May 2005
Six Spirit of Hospitality Award Winners Named by Pennsylvania Tourism & Lodging Association / April 2002


To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.