Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


The American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute Honors
Leaders in Hospitality Training and Education

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, June 11, 2008—The American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute has announced this year’s winners of its awards for champions of hospitality training and education. The following people were honored at the AH&LA Summer Summit during the AH&LA Stars of the Industry Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, June 11.
Pedro Mandoki, CHA, president and CEO of Mandoki Hospitality, Inc., is the 2008 recipient of the Arthur Landstreet Award.  Named after the Tennessee hotelier who founded the Educational Institute, the Arthur Landstreet award is presented to an individual who has made a lasting impact on the quality of education and training in the hospitality industry. 

Raphael R. Kavanaugh, Ed.D., CHA, FMP, professor and head of the department of Hospitality and Tourism Management at Purdue University, is the 2008 recipient of the Anthony G. Marshall Award.  This award recognizes an individual who has made significant long-term contributions to the hospitality industry in educating future leaders.  

Tony Farris, CHA, chairman and CEO, Quorum Hotels & Resorts, is the recipient of the CHA Emeritus Award, presented to a Certified Hotel Administrator (CHA) who has made significant contributions to the hospitality industry through leadership, education, and professional involvement and distinguished achievement in all facets of the industry.
EI presented four Lamp of Knowledge Awards this year. These awards are given to individuals who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to advancing the quality of professionalism and education in the hospitality industry.  This year’s honorees are:           

Outstanding Educator (International): Michael Farrell, managing partner, Southern Africa Hospitality Training Co., Zimbabwe.
Outstanding Educator (U.S.): Fred J. DeMicco, Ph.D., professor and ARAMARK chair for the department of hotel, restaurant, and institutional management, University of Delaware. 

Outstanding Educator (High School): Harry Gayes, teacher, Oak Ridge High School, Orlando, Florida. 

Outstanding Student: Jesse Larson, manager, Glass House, East West Urban Management, Denver, Colorado.

Established in 1953 as a nonprofit educational foundation of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, the Educational Institute’s mission is to support AH&LA by becoming the preferred provider to the lodging industry, hospitality schools, and related hospitality industries both domestically and internationally by developing and providing quality resources to train, educate, and certify hospitality professionals.

Elizabeth Johnson 
Marketing Manager

Also See: Fred J. Kleisner is the 2005 Recipient of the Arthur Landstreet Award / May 2005
John J. Russell Jr. the 2004 Recipient of the Educational Institute's 2004 Arthur Landstreet Award / April 2004


To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.