Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


HFTP Seeking Nominations for the 2008 Hall of Fame; Inductees Are
Professionals Who Dedicate Careers to Hospitality Technology


AUSTIN, TEXAS, USA (March 10, 2008) – Developments in hospitality technology have lead to ease of management, better customer service and the ability to accommodate the modern amenities sought by guests. The driving forces behind this constantly evolving field are the professionals who dedicate their careers towards its development. Through the International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame, Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP®) recognizes individuals who have made a significant impact in this area.

HFTP is now seeking nominations for the 2008 Hall of Fame inductee(s), who will be recognized at the Opening Session of HITEC (Hospitality Industry Technology Exposition and Conference®) on June 16 in Austin, Texas, USA. Applications are available on the HFTP web site, with nominations due to the HFTP office by April 14. Hall of Fame recipient(s) will be selected by a distinguished panel of technology experts and HFTP leaders.

"The Hall of Fame is, perhaps, the greatest honor one can receive in this industry," said John Springer-Miller, the 2007 inductee and CEO of PAR Springer-Miller Systems (SMS). "I am honored to be recognized on the same level as the previous Hall of Fame inductees."

To keep up with expectations and in recognition of the visionaries who develop these instruments and their impact on the hospitality industry, HFTP established the International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame, the association’s highest level of recognition in the area of technology. Since 1989, 29 individuals have been selected by their peers as representing the best in innovation and application and as leaders in their profession.

Technology Hall of Fame members include such industry pioneers as: Robert S. Bennett; David Berkus; Richard Brooks, CHA; John D. Burns, CHA; Dave Burroughs; John Cahill, CHTP, CHA; Thomas Castleberry; Larry Chervenak, CHAE; John Davis III; Raymond C. Ellis, Jr., CHTP, CHE, CLSD; Scott Heintzeman; Robert Horgan; Ted Horner; Jon Inge, CHTP, ISHC; Michael Kasavana, Ph.D., CHTP; Carrol Lund; Richard Moore, CDP; Jack Morgan; Richard Nauman; William Oates; Eric Orkin; Raymond Schultz; Penelope Sellers; Jules Sieburgh, CHTP; Richard Siegel; Sal Spano, CHAE, CHA; John Springer-Miller; James Yoakum; and George Zugmier.

For more information, contact the HFTP Director of Communications at or (800) 646-4387 or +1 (512) 249-5333 x23.

About HFTP
HFTP, Austin, Texas, USA and Maastricht, The Netherlands, founded in 1952, is the global professional association for financial and technology personnel working in hotels, clubs and other hospitality-related businesses. HFTP provides first class educational opportunities, research, and publications to more than 4,800 members globally including, the premiere hospitality technology conference HITEC--founded in 1972. HFTP also awards the only hospitality specific certifications for accounting and technology ---the Certified Hospitality Accountant Executive (CHAE) and the Certified Hospitality Technology Professional (CHTP) designations. HFTP was founded in the USA as the National Association of Hotel Accountants. For more information, visit 


Katy Walterscheidt
Communications Specialist
Hospitality Financial & Technology Professionals
11709 Boulder Lane, Ste. 110
Austin, TX 78726-1832
Phone: 001 (512) 249-5333 (Extension 27)
Fax: 001 (512) 249-1533



To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.