Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive


HFTP Accepting Nominations for the Paragon Award - Honors Individuals
Who Have Made a Significant Contribution to Both HFTP
and the Hospitality Industry
AUSTIN, TEXAS (July 24, 2007) – Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals (HFTP®) is now accepting nominations for the prestigious Paragon Award, which recognizes individuals who have made a significant and lasting contribution to both HFTP and the hospitality industry. Since 1999, 10 people have been recognized with a Paragon Award, and continuing with the tradition, HFTP will honor this year’s winner(s) at the 2007 Annual Convention & Tradeshow in Jacksonville, Fla.

“HFTP continues to grow worldwide thanks to its dedicated volunteers,” said Agnes DeFranco, Ed.D., CHAE, professor at the University of Houston’s Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, HFTP international president and chair of the Paragon Award council. “It is important to recognize those who have given their time and talent towards the development of the association, as well as creating a legacy in the hospitality industry.”

Past winners include Alice Banks, CHAE (1999); Henry "Buddy" Weeks, CHAE (1999); Frank Santos, CHAE, CHA (2000); Katherine Cavanagh, CHAE (2001); Raymond Schmidgall, Ph.D., CPA, CHAE (2002); Frank Wolfe, CAE (2002); Len Bartello, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2003); John J. Cahill, CHA, CHTP (2004); Wendy Zurstadt, CPA, CHAE, CHTP (2005); and Richard Braa, CHAE (2006).

To be eligible for selection, an individual must first be nominated by someone who has worked with or is familiar with the nominated individual’s work. The nomination must then be seconded and accompanied by three supporting letters of recommendation. No more than two of the nominators/recommendation writers can be from the same employer, association (other than HFTP) or educational institution. 

Paragon Award Nominees can be HFTP members, representatives of industry-related associations, societies, trade publications; or leaders from hospitality businesses, educational institutions and other related disciplines. 

A panel of industry experts will select the award winner(s) who will be recognized at the 2007 HFTP Annual Convention & Tradeshow being held October 17-20 at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront in Jacksonville, Fla. The Paragon Award nomination form is available on the HFTP web site. Nominations and letters of recommendation are due to the HFTP office by August 10, 2007. 

For more information about nominating an individual, contact the HFTP Membership Department at (800) 646-4387 or 001 (512) 249-5333 x19, or by e-mail at

HFTP, Austin, Texas, USA and Maastricht, The Netherlands, founded in 1952, is the global professional association for financial and technology personnel working in hotels, clubs and other hospitality-related businesses. HFTP provides first class educational opportunities, research, and publications to more than 4,600 members globally including, the premiere hospitality technology conference HITEC--founded in 1972. HFTP also awards the only hospitality specific certifications for accounting and technology ---the Certified Hospitality Accountant Executive (CHAE) and the Certified Hospitality Technology Professional (CHTP) designations. HFTP was founded in the USA as the National Association of Hotel Accountants. For more information, visit

Katy Walterscheidt
Communications Specialist
Hospitality Financial & Technology Professionals
11709 Boulder Lane, Ste. 110
Austin, TX 78726-1832
Phone: 001 (512) 249-5333 (Extension 27)
Also See: John J. Cahill, CHA, CHTP, Selected as the Recipient of HFTP’s 2004 Paragon Award / September 2004


To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.