Hotel Online  Special Report


John Burns and Jon Inge Inducted into the HFTP
International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame
AUSTIN, TEXAS; May 25, 2006 - Two hospitality technology pioneers, both industry consultants, were selected for induction into the HFTP International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame. John Burns, CHA and John Inge, CHTP, ISHC were chosen for their wide-spread involvement in the industry. Both Burns and Inge will be honored at this year's HITEC Opening General Session on June 20 at the Minneapolis Convention Center in Minneapolis, Minn. USA. HITEC 2006 will be held June 19-22 at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

Burns is president of Hospitality Technology Consulting. Throughout his career he has taken a strong lead in increasing the knowledge of hoteliers around the world in the area of electronic distribution and has patiently counseled thousands on how to make the most of this important arena for hotel marketing.

"Our industry is fortunate to have an individual such as John Burns who has over the last 15 years contributed so much to the advancement of technology, and I can think of no one more deserving of recognition," said Ted Horner, managing director of E. Horner & Associates and the 2004 International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame inductee.

Born and educated in Canada, John D. Burns began his hotel career managing university conference centers, first in Ottawa, Ont. and then in Vancouver, B.C. He subsequently became director of reservation services for Hyatt International. Under his direction, the reservation services team designed, developed and installed Hyatt International's first computerized central reservation system. 

Burns later worked at Ramada, Inc. where as director of property systems support he was responsible for all technology at Ramada's owned/managed properties, as well as for the Ramada and Rodeway electronic distribution programs. Following that position he briefly worked as VP of product development at THISCO (now Pegasus Solutions). In 1992 he founded Hospitality Technology Consulting (HTC), where he specializes in assisting hotel chains and independent hotels in optimizing their central reservations and electronic distribution programs. 

Inge is president of Jon Inge and Associates. He has over 29 years of experience in this field, gained from the system vendor, hotel management and consultancy perspectives. 

"While many consultants who have accumulated experience and data on various vendors and products would only make this information available to paying clients, Jon has chosen the route of sharing, volunteering and educating as the preferred approach to building a business. We are all beneficiaries of this unselfish perspective and Jon should be thanked accordingly," said Robert Bennett, CIO for Ginn Clubs & Resorts and the 2000 International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame inductee.

After achieving a masters in engineering at Oxford University, Inge spent five years in London successfully establishing and managing European/Middle East sales/installation/support distributors for Micor, Inc., a pioneer PMS vendor. He moved to Micor's head office in Phoenix, Ariz. in 1979, and tripled the number of worldwide distributors and international installations. In 1982, he assumed full responsibility for PMS installations, training and customer support for Micor's successor company, Galler Hospitality.

Inge joined NCR Corp. in San Diego, Calif. in 1984 as project manager for a multi-million dollar custom systems development program for the Westin Hotel in Singapore. Moving to Westin's corporate office in Seattle, Wash. he spent 10 years managing its worldwide property systems planning and implementations, and played a lead role in selecting Westin's future reservations and property management systems.

Inge established his own hospitality technology consulting company in 1996, advising hotels from 10-room independents to international chains. 

Technology Hall of Fame members include such industry pioneers as: Robert S. Bennett; David Berkus; Richard Brooks, CHA; Dave Burroughs; John Cahill, CHTP, CHA; Thomas Castleberry; Larry Chervenak, CHAE; John Davis III; Raymond C. Ellis, Jr., CHTP, CHE, CLSD; Scott Heintzeman; Robert Horgan; Ted Horner; ;Michael Kasavana, Ph.D., CHTP; Carrol Lund; Richard Moore, CDP; Jack Morgan; Richard Nauman; William Oates; Eric Orkin; Raymond Schultz; Penelope Sellers; Jules Sieburgh, CHTP; Richard Siegel; Sal Spano, CHAE, CHA; James Yoakum; and George Zugmier.

Nominations were solicited in March from industry press, current Hall of Fame members, industry association executives and HFTP leaders. 

About HFTP - Based in Austin, Texas, HFTP is the professional association for financial and technology personnel working in hotels, resorts, clubs, casinos, restaurants and other hospitality-related businesses. The association provides continuing education and networking opportunities to more than 4,600 members around the world, and produces the premiere hospitality technology shows HITEC. HFTP also administers the examination and awards the certification for the Certified Hospitality Accountant Executive (CHAE) and the Certified Hospitality Technology Professional (CHTP) designations. HFTP was founded in 1952 as the National Association of Hotel Accountants. 

HFTP® and HITEC® are registered service marks of Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals. ProLinks is a service mark of Hospitality Financial and Technology Professionals. 


Eliza R. Selig
Director of Communications
(800) 646-4387
001 (512) 249-5333 x23
Fax: 001 (512) 249-1533

Also See: David Burroughs and W. Thomas Castleberry Inducted into the HFTP International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame / June 2005
Ted Horner Inducted into the HFTP International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame / June 2004
Richard Siegel Inducted into the HFTP International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame / June 2003
Eric B. Orkin Inducted into the HFTP International Hospitality Technology Hall of Fame; Selected for Involvement in Growth of Revenue Management and Central Reservation Systems / June 2002
John F. Davis, III Inducted into the HFTP International Technology Hall of Fame / May 2001
HFTP 2000's Technology Hall of Fame Inductee is Robert S. Bennett, PricewaterhouseCoopers / May 2000
HFTP Inducting Scott Heintzeman into Technology Hall of Fame / June 1999

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.Online Search

Home | Welcome! | Hospitality News | Classifieds | Catalogs & Pricing | Viewpoint Forum | Ideas/Trends
Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.