Hotel Online  Special Report

Fred J. Kleisner the 2005 Recipient of the Arthur Landstreet Award; Honored for Impact on Education and
Training in the Hospitality Industry


LAS VEGAS, Nev., April 2005óThe Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Lodging Association has announced this yearís winners of its awards for champions of hospitality training and education. The following people were honored during the Las Vegas International Hotel & Restaurant Show at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center, during the AH&LA Stars of the Industry Awards Luncheon on Thursday, April 28.

Fred J. Kleisner is the 2005 recipient of the Arthur Landstreet Award.  Named after the Tennessee hotelier who founded the Educational Institute, the Arthur Landstreet award is presented to an individual who has made a lasting impact on the quality of education and training in the hospitality industry. 

Kleisner, chairman and CEO, Wyndham International, Dallas, Texas, has been with the Wyndham organization since 1999. His more than 35 years of hospitality industry experience includes senior positions with Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Westin Hotels and Resorts, Interstate Hotels, The Sheraton Corporation, and Hilton Hotels.  Kleisner is currently the chairman of the American Hotel & Lodging Associationís Multi-Cultural and Diversity Advisory Council.  He is active in numerous professional, business, and civic organizations.

EI presented four Lamp of Knowledge Awards this year. These awards are given to individuals and companies who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to advancing the quality of professionalism in the hospitality industry.  This yearís honorees are:

  • Outstanding Student: Kaithavana Kurian (K.K.) Stephen, CHA, director of human resources, Al Bandor Hotel & Resort, Riffa, Kingdom of Bahrain. 
  • Outstanding Educator (High School): Dominic Ierardi, teacher, Great Lowell Technical High School, Lowell, Mass. 
  • Outstanding Educator (International): Johnny O. Reinholdt, CHE, program coordinator, MTI Community College, Vancouver, B.C., Canada.
  • Outstanding Educator (Domestic): Stuart H. Mann, dean, William F. Harrah College of Hotel Administration, University of Las Vegas, Nevada.  The award received by Mann has been renamed The Anthony G. Marshall Award, in honor of EIís president.
Established in 1953 as a nonprofit educational foundation of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, the Educational Instituteís mission is to support AH&LA by becoming the preferred provider to the lodging industry, hospitality schools, and related hospitality industries both domestically and internationally by developing and providing quality resources to train, educate, and certify hospitality professionals.

Elizabeth Johnson
Academic and Allied Marketing Manager

Also See: Paul Handlery the 2003 Recipient of the Arthur Landstreet Award; Honored for Impact on Education and Training in the Hospitality Industry / July 2003
John J. Russell Jr. the 2004 Recipient of the Educational Institute's 2004 Arthur Landstreet Award / April 2004

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.Online Search

Home | Welcome! | Hospitality News | Classifieds | Catalogs & Pricing | Viewpoint Forum | Ideas/Trends
Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.