Hotel Online  Special Report

Bob Prewitt Presented the International Association
of Conference Center's Mel Hosansky Award for
Distinguished Service


Westchester, NY - April 2005 -- One of the highlights of the 24th Annual Conference of the International Association of Conference Centers was the presentation of the coveted Mel Hosansky Award for Distinguished Service to Bob Prewitt, a highly respected veteran of the hospitality industry.
Established in 1985, each year IACC acknowledges one individual who has given the most to IACC and the conference center industry.  Originally called the Distinguished Service Award, it was renamed in 1990 in memory of its first recipient, Mel Hosansky, who died that year.  A longtime editor of Meetings & Conventions Magazine and later, Successful Meetings, Hosansky was an early supporter of IACC and its activities.  In presenting the award to Prewitt,  Jeff Farina, President of IACC North America stated, "Every time we recognize a new recipient of this award, we honor Mel Hosansky's preeminent legacy."

Bob Prewitt is a partner in Dana Communications and leads the firm's hospitality division where he has

IACC North America President Jeff Farina
(right) presents Bob Prewitt (left) with IACC's
prestigious Mel Hosansky Award for
Distinguished Service
developed numerous successful marketing and sales strategies for a wide range of industry clients.  Bob speaks regularly at hospitality industry meetings and his work has received numerous awards from Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International.  He has served the IACC Board of Directors as Marketing Counsel since 1995, is active on the Marketing Committee, and has been a frequent presenter at the Annual Conference.

Past recipients of the award: 

1984 - Mel Hosansky
1985 - David Arnold
1986 - Charles Williams/Preben Nesager
1987 - Robert J. Hillier
1988 - Burt Cabanas
1989 - John Marenzana
1990 - Don Middleberg
1991 - Richard Kopacz
1992 - Marjorie Farley
1993 - Sam Haigh
1994 - Mary Gendron
1995 - Jorgen Roed
1996 - Anne-Marie Ostergaard
1997 - Andy Dolce
1998 - Tom Silvestri
1999 - Roberta Butler
2000 - John Wilderman
2001 - Jerry Noack
2002 - John Potterton
2003 - Jack Kealey
2005 - Wende Blumberg

IACC's second annual Copper Skillet Competition presented it's Chef of the Year Award to Chef Thomas Nielsen of KolleKolle conference center near Copenhagen, Denmark.

Six qualifying chefs from IACC chapter countries competed for the honor as they created an entree based on this year's chosen Moroccan cuisine.  Each chef's work station was equipped with similar tools along with 18 pantry and 15 staple foods used to create their Moroccan cuisine.  Six carefully selected secret ingredients were unveiled moments before the start of the competition.

A panel of three local judges carefully scrutinized each chef during the preparation as well as the tasting.  The judges critiqued preparation, technique, combination of ingredients, hygiene, creativity, and flavor to identify the IACC Chef of the Year and the Copper Skillet Award.

An enthusiastic crowd of nearly 400 guests cheered as Chef Nielsen was presented the award from IACC Global President Bob Johns, and former IACC Global President Tim Chudley.  Chudley created and launched the concept last year in an effort to give greater recognition to the IACC Food & Beverage teams and, for our chefs from around the world to share their talent and ideas with the conference.  Bob Johns noted that the competition gives greater recognition to IACC and the phenomenal talents associated with it.

Chef Nielsen's winning entree included chicken breast stuffed with layers of parsley and apricots, spiced cous cous, fried skin of the chicken, fried cilantro and assorted vegetables and spices.


International Association of Conference Centers 
James M. Mahon
Director of Marketing & Public Relations
914 699 4725

Also See: ARAMARK Harrison Lodging’s Jack Kealey Named Recipient of IACC’s Mel Hosansky Award For Distinguished Service / April 2003
The Board of Directors of the International Association of Conference Centers of North America Elects New Officers; Benchmark's Jeffrey V. Farina Elected President / October 2004

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.Online Search

Home | Welcome! | Hospitality News | Classifieds | Catalogs & Pricing | Viewpoint Forum | Ideas/Trends
Please contact Hotel.Online with your comments and suggestions.