Hotel Online
News for the Hospitality Executive

.

 
 
 

Web Cast:  Changes in Consumer Behavior - Impact for
Revenue Management and Sales

Web Cast January 23, 2009, 1:00PM EST
.


January 20, 2009 - The consumer has been battered by the recession – disappearing 401ks, evaporating home values and job losses – real or anticipated. 

“The good news is that we have been in a recession for 12 months, there’s light at the end of the tunnel,” says Carol Verret.  “The bad news is that changes in consumer behavior during the recession may not snap back to previous consumer spending patterns when it is over.” 

Click here for more.

In this web cast we will examine: 

  • How to appeal to customers in the downturn.  It’s all about ‘value’ but value is not a price point. It is about experiences that consumers are willing to pay for.    The hotel’s ideal customer in the downturn may not be the ideal customer after the recovery begins. 
  • What the ‘new consumer’ will look like when the recovery occurs .  401ks are not likely to recover quickly nor are the values of people’s homes – both of these things made the consumer ‘feel  rich’.   The consumer is changing from maxing out credit cards to a savings mode but they will still travel.  What will entice them to buy? 
  • What revenue managers and sales people can do to get more business from the new consumer.  Identifying  the customers that find value in the experiences of your hotel/destination  is key to thriving in the present economy and beyond.  How to locate them and appeal to them requires creatively using traditional and non-traditional booking channels and communication.   (Twitter anyone?) The trends that that customer will ‘buy into’ in travel. 
This web cast should be attended by Revenue Managers, Sales staff and General Managers that want to understand the dynamic of the ‘new consumer’.  We will draw on the latest research and trends  to provide participants with tools they can use at the conclusion of the program.
.
The web cast is presented January 23, 2009 approximately one hour in duration
and is at 1:00PM EST, Noon CST, 11:00am MST and 10:00am PST. 

The fee is $139 per connection, $129 for two or more connections
from the same company. 

Click Here to Register

.
Weekly Shots of Hotel Sales Caffeine is a weekly short blurb of sales tips and motivation for hotel sales and revenue managers that will be sent straight into your Inbox.  This is absolutely FREE and your email information will not be used for any other purpose without your permission.  It will begin in February.  Send an email to carol@carolverret.com to sign up.
.
.
.
.

To search Hotel Online data base of News and Trends Go to Hotel.OnlineSearch
Home | Welcome| Hospitality News | Classifieds| One-on-One |
Viewpoint Forum | Industry Resources | Press Releases
Please contact Hotel.Onlinewith your comments and suggestions.